Home Remedies for Celiac Disease

For some people, a slice of pizza, breaded chicken cutlets and a handful of oatmeal cookies, can pose a health threat. When it comes to the digestive system of a celiac disease patient, the things they can eat are primarily dictated by a certain type of protein called gluten. Thankfully, there are things that you do, such as home remedies for celiac disease that can make management of the condition easier.

What is Celiac Disease?

Celiac disease is a medical concern centered on a protein called gluten that is found in many everyday foods, such as bread, crackers, and pasta [1]. Gluten is also found in grains, such as wheat, barley, and rye. When you eat foods with gluten, the disease causes your immune system to attack the protein, which in turn, harms your small intestine. Because of the disease, your body has difficulties absorbing the nutrients that your body needs to stay healthy. Complications of celiac disease include iron deficiency, anemia and osteoporosis. In children, the condition causes weak bones and slows growth.

Causes and Symptoms

Doctors do not know the exact cause of celiac disease, but are aware of certain genes that can increase a patient’s chances of developing the condition. If you have a close family member with the disease, you face a higher risk. A patient suffers celiac disease symptoms when they eat or drink something that contains gluten, such as barley, bulgur, durum, farina, graham flour, rye, semolina, spelt and wheat.
Not everyone will exhibit the same celiac disease symptoms, which include:

Gas and bloating
• Bowel movement changes
Weight loss
Feelings of being tired
• Weakness

A patient may also complain of other symptoms associated with the disease, such as abdominal pain, indigestion, constipation, diarrhea, nausea, vomiting, and lactose intolerance.

Celiac Disease Home Remedies

A celiac disease diagnosis will turn a patient’s dietary world upside down. They will need to eliminate the consumption of any food or drink that contains wheat, barley, rye, and in some cases, oats. The process can be rather frustrating, but luckily, there are home remedies for celiac disease that can help make the transition easier, such as:

a) Ginger:

Use pickled ginger to tap into the therapeutic benefits that the root delivers an inflamed intestinal tract associated with celiac disease.

b) Paprika:

It is said that you can add paprika to your dishes as a way to combat the symptoms of celiac disease.

c) Yogurt:

Ingredients found in yogurt can encourage the healing process of the digestive system.

d) Chamomile Tea:

Drink four cups of chamomile tea to encourage healing of the digestive tract, as well as strengthen the immune system.

e) Spice Check:

When cooking, it is important to make sure you are using pure spices and not seasonings that contain gluten additives, such as some taco sauces.

f) Chew Your Food:

Chewing your food thoroughly before swallowing is a good way to avoid complications from your celiac disease symptoms. This is because the nutrients that your body requires will absorb more efficiently into your system.

g) Eat Fish:

The omega-3 fatty acids found in fish oils can help lessen inflammation of the intestinal lining.

h) Avoid Cow’s Milk:

After a diagnosis and the start of treatment for celiac disease, you may have to refrain from drinking milk from a cow (and foods containing cow milk) until your intestine has recovered.

i) Know Your Labels:

While some foods have ‘wheat-free’ on their label, they may still contain gluten. Words to be on the lookout include “modified food starch” and “hydrolyzed vegetable protein” – warning signs that the products may contain gluten. Many everyday products you’d never suspect are also made using gluten as an ingredient. Even your favorite lip balm [2] could cause a reaction if you have a habit of licking your lips. Also, reading the labels of medications and vitamins is important because some of these products contain gluten.

j) Switch Your Grains and Starches:

When following a gluten-free diet, you need to become familiar with acceptable grains and starches, such as amaranth, arrowroot, buckwheat, corn, cornmeal, pure corn tortillas, rice, and tapioca.

k) Discover Quinoa:

For centuries, quinoa has been grown and used as a food by people living in the Andes region of South America. Celiac disease patients are apt to gravitate to quinoa when looking for acceptable foods to eat in their restricted diet. Quinoa offers a nutritious grain that is higher in protein, fiber, calcium and iron than most cereals. The flavor of quinoa is often described as possessing a nutty taste that is comparable to wild rice.

l) Sweeten with Homemade Caramel:

The sweetness and coloring of burnt sugar (homemade caramel) does not contain gluten, and is a safe edible for celiac disease patients. The caramel is made by heating sugar or glucose with the help of small amounts of acid or alkali.

m) Flavor with Vinegar:

As a product of apples, grapes and other foods, vinegar is a flavoring safe for celiac disease patients. For example, cider vinegar is made from apples, and makes a decent ingredient for salad dressings. You can also add herbs and spices to vinegar to change their flavor.

n) Fruits and Vegetables:

Eating lots of fruits and vegetables can avoid the constipation that a celiac disease patient may experience.

o) Crackers:

Choose crackers and crispbreads made from rice or corn when looking for snack foods that are safe for an individual on a gluten-free diet.

p) Popcorn:

Since popcorn is made from corn, it is a safe food for celiac disease patients to consume.

q) Rice Cakes:

When looking for a gluten-free snack, rice cakes fall under the category of things you can eat.

r) Cooked Cereal:

Replace your usual breakfast choices with cooked cereal made from corn (such as hominy and grits), rice, pure buckwheat or quinoa.

s) Become Aware of Hidden Gluten in Food:

Celiac disease patients have to become wizards at deciphering food labels and spotting potential dietary pitfalls. Gluten can hide in your favorite foods when you least expect it. For example, the coating on breaded chicken cutlets contains gluten. Processing agents used for dry roasted nuts may contain wheat flour or flavorings. Celiac disease patients cannot eat French fries that have been coated in flour. Even the soy sauce in Chinese food may be fermented with wheat.

Resources

[1] http://www.webmd.com/digestive-disorders/celiac-disease/celiac-disease-topic-overview
[2] http://digestive.niddk.nih.gov/ddiseases/pubs/celiac/

SIMILAR ARTICLES